Obedience to God is Imperative.

  This is again the Greek name for this book, and signifies the “second giving of the Law.” It contains the records of public addresses to Israel, delivered in the eleventh month of the fortieth year of their wanderings through the Wilderness. As Moses uttered them on the eve of his own speedy removal, he was able to speak with unusual emphasis and urgency. The allusions to the natural features amidst which these addresses were given are consistent with the place and speaker. It has been shown also by competent scholarship that Deuteronomy has all the peculiarities of Moses’ style; and any differences of hortatory entreaty and appeal may be accounted for by the mellowing effect of age.
   The special references to this book in the New Testament are very significant. Our Lord quoted from it thrice in His Temptation, Matthew 4:4, 7, 10. See also Romans 10:19; Acts 3:22; 7:37. There are touches by a later writer, and an appendix, Deuteronomy 34; but the origin of the treatise as a whole must be ascribed to the great Lawgiver. —Through the Bible Day by Day ​

Outline of Deuteronomy
The Law Repeated for the New Generation

I. First Discourse of Moses, Deuteronomy 1-4
   1. Review of Israel’s History from Sinai to the Jordan, Deuteronomy 1-3
   2. Appeal to the People to Faithfully Observe God’s Commands, Deuteronomy 4:1-40
   3. Supplementary Historical Statement, Deuteronomy 1:41-46
II. Moses’ Second Discourse, Deuteronomy 5-28
   1. Repetition of the Decalogue and Exhortation to Cleave unto God, Deuteronomy 5-11
   2. Laws Regulating the Religious and Social Life of the People, Deuteronomy 12-26
   3. The Law to be Written on Plastered Stones; the Cursings and the Blessings, Deuteronomy 27:1-28:6
   4. Consequences that Will Follow Obedience and Disobedience, Deuteronomy 28:7-68
III. The Third Discourse, Deuteronomy 29-30
   The Covenant Renewed and Enforced with Promises and Threatenings
IV. The Final Scenes in Moses’ Career, Deuteronomy 31-34
   1. Joshua Charged and Commissioned, Deuteronomy 31:1-23
   2. The Book of the Law Delivered to the Priests, Deuteronomy 31:24-29
   3. The Song of Moses and Directions to Ascend Nebo, Deuteronomy 32
   4. Moses’ Final Blessing, Deuteronomy 33
   5. The Death of Moses, Deuteronomy 34 —Through the Bible Day by Day