Jesus is the Mighty Worker, who came, not to be ministered unto, but to minister.

​That this Gospel is the briefest and earliest of the four needs no proof. It was written between a.d. 63 and 70, and was primarily intended for the Romans. It has always been ascribed to Peter as author, with Mark as acting amanuensis. This accounts for the graphic nature of the narrative and for the many touches which are especially characteristic of Peter. Papias tells us that Mark was “the interpreter of Peter.” It is usually believed that this Gospel was written in Rome, and we know that Mark is frequently referred to in the Epistles as associated with the Apostle’s life and work there, II Timothy 4:11; Philemon 24; I Peter 5:13. —Through the Bible Day by Day 

“Declared to be the Son of God with Power”

I. The Beginning of the Gospel, Mark 1:1-13
   1. John the Baptist Proclaims the Coming of One Mightier Than Himself, Mark 1:1-8
   2. The Voice from Heaven Bears Witness to Jesus, Mark 1:9-11
   3. Jesus Vanquishes the Tempter, Mark 1:12-13
II. Growing Authority and Growing Opposition, Mark 1:14-3:6
   1. The Calling of the First Disciples, Mark 1:14-20
   2. Miracles of Healing, and the Forgiveness of Sins, Mark 1:21-2:12
   3. Opposition of the Scribes and Pharisees, Mark 2:13-3:6
III. The Abounding Ministry, Mark 3:7-8:26
   (“I must work the work of Him that sent me, while it is day.”)
      Teaching, healing, calling of the Twelve, parables, preaching, stilling the storm, raising the dead, feeding the multitudes, silencing the scribes and Pharisees
IV. The Last Journey to Jerusalem, Mark 8:27-10:52
   1. The Preparation of the Disciples, Mark 8:27-9:50
      Peter’s confession, the Transfiguration, healing of demoniac boy, who should be greatest?
   2. Incidents by the Way, Mark 10:1-52
      Questions of Pharisees about divorce, blessing the children, rich young ruler, ambition of James and John
V. In the City of the Great King, Mark 11:1-13:37
   Triumphal entry, cleansing of the Temple, questions, parables, warnings, prophecies 
VI. The Triumph of Submission, Mark 14:1-15:47
   1. The Culmination of Enmity and of Friendship, Mark 14:1-11
   2. The Last Supper and the Agony in the Garden, Mark 14:12-42
   3. The Betrayal, Mark 14:43-52
   4. The Jewish and Roman Trials, Mark 14:53-15:15
   5. The Crucifixion and Burial, Mark 15:16-47
VII. Captivity Led Captive, Mark 16:1-20
   1. The Visit of the Women to the Empty Tomb, Mark 16:1-11
   2. The Walk to Emmaus, Mark 16:12-13
   3. The Great Commission, Mark 16:14-20 —Through the Bible Day by Day